The Wiley University Special Collections & Archives comprises a history of 150 years of institutional and personal collections.
If you are interested in visiting the Special Collections & Archives, please contact the Director of Library Services at ebradshaw@wileyc.edu or contact (903) 927-3275 for an appointment.
| Monday - Friday | 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. |
| Saturday - Sunday | Closed |
Food, drink, gum, purses, and backpacks are not allowed inside the special collections room. Visitors may bring a pencil and paper for research; no ink pens. Laptops are allowed. No cell phones.
Wiley College Debate Team. The Kitten, 1935. Special Collections, Wiley University Special Collections & Archives.
Honorable Emmett J. Scott, President Dogan's Secretary. The Kitten, 1926. Special Collections, Wiley University Special Collections & Archives.
Hobart Jarrett, Henry Heights, and James Farmer, Jr. Varsity Debate Team. The Kitten, 1937. Special Collections, Wiley University Special Collections & Archives.
President Matthew Winifred Dogan (1896-1942). The Wildcat, 1961. Special Collections, Wiley University Special Collections & Archives.
Carnegie Library. The Wildcat, 1961. Special Collections, Wiley University Special Collections & Archives.
Main Building. The Wildcat, 1961. Special Collections, Wiley University Special Collections & Archives
Professor Herbert L. Stevens. The Kitten, 1917-1918. Special Collections, Wiley University Special Collections & Archives.
Below is a incomplete list of materials currently available to research. For more information, please contact the Director of Library Services.
Books
Barr, Alwyn. Black Texans: A History of African Americans in Texas, 1528-1995. University of Oklahoma Press, 1996.
Farnsworth, Robert M. Melvin B. Tolson, 1898-1966 Plain Talk and Poetic Prophecy. University of Missouri Press, 2008.
Flasch, Joy. Melvin B. Tolson. Twayne Publishers, 1972.
Gibbs, Warmoth T. President Matthew W. Dogan of Wiley College: A Biography. Firmin-Greer, 1941.
Tolson, Melvin Beaunorus, and Robert M. Farnsworth. Caviar and Cabbage. University of Missouri Press, 1982.
Tolson, Melvin Beaunorus, and Edward J. Mullen. The Harlem Group of Negro Writers. Greenwood Press, 2001.
Tolson, Melvin Beaunorus, and Raymond Nelson. "Harlem Gallery", and Other Poems of Melvin B. Tolson. Univ. Press of Virginia, 1999.
Voth, Ben. James Farmer Jr. - The Great Debater. Lexington Books, 2017.
Journal Articles
Beil, G. K. (2002). Four Marshallites’ Roles in the Passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1964. The Southwestern Historical Quarterly, 106(1), 1–29. http://www.jstor.org/stable/30242135
Beil, G. K. (2008). Wiley College: The Great Debaters. The East Texas Historical Journal, 46(1), 18-26.
Seals, D. (2003). The Wiley-Bishop Student Movement: A Case Study in the 1960 Civil Rights Sit-Ins. The Southwestern Historical Quarterly, 106(3), 418–440. http://www.jstor.org/stable/30239346
Dissertations and Theses
Allen, J. (1940). The History of Negro Education at Wiley College [Unpublished master’s thesis]. East Texas State Teachers College. Wiley College Special Collections.
Batten, J.C. (2011). Wiley College and the Literacy Project. Retrieved from https://doi.org/doi:10.7282/T3M32V4M [Master’s thesis, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey].
Beil, G. K. (1999). Sowing the seeds of the civil rights movement: Dr. J. Leonard Farmer and Wiley College, Marshall, Texas, as case studies of the educational influence on the modern civil rights leaders (Publication No. 1397610) [Master’s thesis, Stephen F. Austin State University].
Cole, T. W. (1955). Duties of Academic Deans in Selected Methodist Church-Related Colleges [Unpublished doctoral dissertation]. University of Texas at Austin. Wiley College Special Collections.
Seals, D. (2003). The Wiley-Bishop Student Movement: A Case Study in the 1960 Civil Rights Sit-Ins [Unpublished master’s thesis]. Baylor University. Wiley College Special Collections
